The Surgery

Well, I had my surgery on Tuesday and am still waiting for the results.  I’ve spent the past two days in a haze in front of the television or trying to read.  On Tuesday I watched the entire first season of East Bound & Down.  The worst part is that I have this ginormous bandage that covers the entire left side of my chest, looks ridiculous (so much so that I don’t like going out in public) and the thing really restricts movement.  Bathing and shaving were hell.  But today I am back and alert, in spite of the bandage still clinging to my body.

The prep-nurses laughed when they saw my tattoo and thought it was a temporary thing I had got for the surgery.  They were also playing black gospel in the background and one guy was wearing a Pittsburg Stealers handkerchief on his head.  All of this was very distressing.  The last thing I remember was explaining that the tattoo was permanent and that I had it before I even knew about the lump in my breast tissue and then, lights out Cole.

When I woke I was extremely happy.  I remember thinking, “oh good, it’s all over.  That was easy!”  I then attempted to talk to the nurse beside me, and I remember talking a good deal.  I’m pretty sure nothing I said made sense.  I honestly don’t even remember anything about the conversation except that I had one.  I then convinced the nurse that I was capable of walking, which I was.  Though in hindsight it was pretty stupid of them to let me walk out of there.

After the surgery, I never got to talk to my surgeon Dr. Elsaid.  He told my Mom that it was much bigger than they originally thought but that he didn’t think it was going to be cancer.  Which I thought was good news.  The final results of the tests will be in by the end of the week, I hope.

In any event tomorrow is the last day of school!  Hell yes.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kate Douglass said,

    Cole, I am so sorry I haven’t been able to be there with you. I am getting a phone within the next week so I will definitly be in touch. You are in my thoughts and prayers, love you much.

  2. 2

    michael said,

    Feel better, dude.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

